## Winner of the Sören Wibe Prize 2020

The winner of the Sören Wibe Prize 2020 is:

Shyamani D. Siriwardena, Kelly M. Cobourn, Gregory S. Amacher and Robert G. Haight, for their article Cooperative bargaining to manage invasive species in jurisdictions with public and private lands. JFE 32 (2018): 72-83.

Climate change is rapidly changing conditions for forest management all over the world. Increasing temperatures affect forest growth conditions in many ways. Extreme weather conditions, such as storms and snow damages, cause direct damage in forests, causing losses of revenue. Climate change also increases domestic pests and pathogens and promotes invasion of new species. These developments require changes in management regimes and design for new pre-emptive and reactive controls with spatial coordination of actions over larger landscapes. Coordination of actions between forest landowners is crucial for success. How to create incentives for coordination and how to establish efficient strategies, is the most policy relevant question.

In their article, "Cooperative bargaining to manage invasive species in jurisdictions with public and private lands" (JFE 32, 72-83), Siriwardena, Cobourn, Amacher, and Haight examine this challenge in a penetrating way. They focus on the impacts of mixed land ownership and the scope for cooperative bargaining between jurisdictions on the effort of slowing the spread of an invasive species. They set up a dynamic model of cooperative Nash bargaining to address the research issue and use numerical simulations to illustrate the model structure and application. The bargaining process results in a transfer payment from uninfested to infested jurisdiction, which helps to control the spreading of the species.

Setting up a dynamic cooperative Nash bargaining model where forestland is owned both publicly and privately with differing incentives to control invasive species is novel. The paper applies solid analyses and is well-written. It helps to understand economically important steps in overcoming disincentives to stop spreading of invasive species, an increasingly important topic in forestry.

The Sören Wibe Prize is awarded biannually to a paper that presents considerable development in theory, empirical knowledge or methodology in the field of forest economics and is published in the Journal of Forest Economics during the two preceding years. Your paper has been selected by an independent international committee consisting of three experts in the field of forest and environmental economics.

The 2020 Sören Wibe Prize Committee consists of: Jette Bredahl Jacobsen, University of Copenhagen, Changyou Sun, Mississippi State University, and Markku Ollikainen, University of Helsinki.